4 years ago

London 2012: Sergiy Falls To Hewitt

Sergiy lost his first-round match at the Olympic Tennis Event on Monday as he was defeated by Australia's Lleyton Hewitt 6-3, 4-6, 6-3 on Monday. The match lasted one hour and 45 minutes.

Stako committed 37 unforced errors to Hewitt's 15. The Australian converted three of his seven break point chances, while Sergiy broke his opponent's serve only once during the match. Hewit won a total of 93 points to Stako's 74 points.

Comments ( 1 )

4 years ago

Gstaad: Stako Advances in Doubles

Sergiy has rebounded back after being ousted in the first round of the singles at the Credit Agricole Suisse Open by reaching the quarterfinals in the doubles on Tuesday. Stako and doubles partner Mikhail Youzhny defeated Lukasz Kubot and Janko Tipsarevic in three sets 6-7(4), 7-5, 10-8.

The Ukrainian-Russian tandem will now face No. 2 seeds Ivan Dodig and Marcelo Melo in the next round.

Earlier today, he fell in the singles to qualifier Dustin Brown 3-6, 6-4, 7-6(8).

Comments ( 0 )

4 years ago

Stuttgart: First-Round Exit

Sergiy suffered a first-round defeat at the hands of Pavol Cervenak of Slovakia at the MercedesCup on Tuesday. He lost 6-1, 4-6, 6-1one hour and 51 minutes.

Stako didn't start well as his opponent took the first set 6-1. In the second set, Sergiy broke Cervenak's serve twice to level the match at one set apiece. Unfortunately, the third set was a one-way traffic. Cervenak won 74% points on serve and broke Sergiy's serve twice to clinch victory and advance to the second round.

Sergiy fell to 10-17 for the season.

The MercedesCup is played on outdoor clay courts. It is the 35th edition of the tournament, which is part of the ATP World Tour 250 series of the ATP World Tour. It is held...

Comments ( 0 )

4 years ago

Stako Elected To ATP Player Council

Sergiy was elected for a two-year term to the new ATP Player Council at the pre-Wimbledon player meeting. It is the first time that he will serve on the council, which includes Kevin Anderson, Roger Federer, Jarkko Nieminen, Gilles Simon, Robin Haase, Mahesh Bhupathi, Eric Butorac, James Cerretani, Andre Sa, Brian Gottfried and Claudio Pistolesi.

ATP Executive Chairman and President Brad Drewett said, "I'd like to congratulate the newly-elected ATP Player Council and thank those players who have concluded their terms. The ATP Player Council plays an incredibly important role in the governance of the ATP, with a seat at the table all year round, helping to make decisions that affect the...

Comments ( 2 )


Latest themes